I have looked on here to try to find an exact answer and i couldn't find one. I have a blackberry curve 8530 with the latest OS 5.0.0.973. I found out that i can lock my keypad just by holding down the * key for a half second or so, then to unlock it, press the mute key on top of the blackberry. I never use the voice dialing option on my phone which is the left button on the side of the phone. I was wondering if i could change the lock/unlock feature to the left button on the side of the phone. I have went to the options->screen/keyboard and seen that i could possibly change the left quick key thing, but i don't see the option where i can change it to the lock/unlock option. Hopefully this makes sense, and any help would be great.
    Also, I used to have the blackberry tour 9630 and they had the lock/unlock key on the top of the phone and i would like to make my curve like that as well.
    So this may be a very easy fix, but i'm fairly new to the blackberrys, so bear with me

Thanks
    01-26-11 08:32 PM
    I'm pretty sure you can't, I kno you can change the side buttons but not to unlock it. I wish you could do that too, I hate using the mute button

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-27-11 08:02 AM
    ya i figured i couldn't change it, but thanks for the response i really appreciate it.
    01-27-11 08:24 PM
    To lock using the top button, just hold it down for 2 seconds.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-28-11 06:01 AM
    you can if you set a "password lock" I lock and unlock (with password) may phone thru the left convenience key (voice dialing key)
    01-28-11 06:58 AM
    I found a way to do it. (Requires password lock).
    Try alt-enter. I know this is usually to change the language, but when I tried it, it password locked my phone!
    BTW: If you want a Curve with a lock button, try the 8900.
    01-29-11 03:51 PM
    I found a way to do it. (Requires password lock).