I have searched AT&T and signal loss and SOS - came across the general stuff regarding the type of signal and that you may or may not get signal - my question is this - there are 4 of us in the office who do not get ANY signal in the office (my home Verizon Q sure does)....can I do any type of update in terms of what I could do on Verizon's network - (which was something like *22 option 4). I am going to upgrade as it appears I am one release off but I wanted to see if that would have anything to do with signal strength...sorry I am new to Blackberry been a Windows user since back in the days of the HP 575 and first generation Casseopia.
    05-28-08 09:03 PM
    typically changing devices will not improve signal strength. if you have poor signal strength with AT&T now, chances are it will still be bad if you get a different device. A software upgrade may or may not help. Best thing is to find someone in the office who has AT&T and their device is not a BB. Or have if you have a friend who has AT&T get them to come to your work and test it out.

If their signal is way better that your BB, then its your device and a software upgrade may help. If the signal strength is the same on both, then there is not much you can do.
    05-28-08 09:26 PM
    Figured that may be the case - so no joy on needing to update bb devices in terms of new towers...which I assume is what Verizon is doing when they tell me to hit *22 option 4 every time i am on hold (which was every time, hehe).
    05-29-08 07:31 AM
    i think Verizon works a little different than the rest of the carriers. Im not sure what the *22 option 4 does, it could be some type of force update to re-sync your phone to the network or some thing like that.