okay, i have never used a blackberry before. my wife has one, i don't think i've ever touched it. i just got one from my uncle. it's locked to at&t and i have t-mobile for service. i've got BDM ver. 4.7.0.32. i also have the blackberry MFI mulitloader. when i run the multiloader i get the following error:

no CFP object initialization.

i've scoured the net to the best of my ability.

do i have to have the actual sim card that was used with the phone, or would any at&t sim card?

like i said, i'm new to blackberry, but not new to technology or tinkering.

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance!

-shake
    12-20-08 05:02 PM
    Im not sure what the MFI multiloader is

I know most here use the desktop manager from

BlackBerry

I use version 4.5, no issues..
    12-20-08 05:07 PM
    the MFI mulitloader is the tool used to find your unlock code, so you can use the phone on any carrier. the phone is locked to at&t and needs to be unlocked for me to use it on t-mobile. i have the desktop manager. the newest version.

the error i get pertains to the operation of the MFI multiloader.

thanks for your help though!

-shake
    12-20-08 06:30 PM
    Ahh ok, so its still locked and you want to unlock it?

I guess Im not completely understanding...
    12-20-08 06:33 PM
    You need an unlock code from the original carrier...
    12-20-08 06:35 PM
    Ahh ok, so its still locked and you want to unlock it?

I guess Im not completely understanding...
    yes, i would like to unlock it!

You need an unlock code from the original carrier...
    isn't that what the MFI multiloader is for?

-shake
    12-20-08 06:59 PM
    I have never unlocked a BlackBerry, but there is threads here. All i know is that there is an unlock code you get from the carrier...
    12-20-08 07:03 PM
    Do you even need the MFI whatever? I thught you just got the code, and did something or other with the MEDP or MEDP or whatever LOL and it disabled the network thing.. who knows