Hi
    I was hopin some of you guys could point me in the right direction. I'm a total noob with blackberries and I got my hands on a blackberry 8310 that is still running on 4.2 software. I would like to update it but the thing is that it is not currently contracted out but I did unlock it. So my questions are, can I update it without a present service provider? And if so, can I use any version of the latest software update? I find the different version selections a bit confusing even though I have been researching the forums to try figure it out. So I thought my next step should be to ask help from those that have been there, done that! What is the advantages/disadvantages of the desktop manager with/without the media manager? I am planning on giving it to someone and I'd like to tweak it the best I can beforehand. Or should I just leave it be and let the new owner deal with it after they get an account with a service provider? Any and all helpand suggestions will be greatly appreciated.Thanks.
    06-23-09 01:35 PM
    Use Desktop Manager 4.6 without Media Manager.

You can update the OS to the one in the sticky at the top of the forum, 4.5.0.163, even if it isn't on any carrier yet. Just follow the instructions in the first post of the sticky thread to install.
    06-23-09 02:02 PM
    Thanks guys for the quick response. Did what you suggested and everything went quite smoothly. Got a bit confused when I didn't see the .163 version but just figured the .174 was a newer build and just went for it. Took about 45 mins. for the whole process but I expected that from trolling the forum and waited it out. Now I'm just waiting for the new housing to arrive and it'll look brand spankin' new! Once again, thanks for your help. I knew I came to the right place!
    06-23-09 08:21 PM