I am new to Blackberries. I send a lot of e-mails so I could deal with the iPhone touch pad anymore. I got an 8300 from a friend to hold me over until the bold. He is not very tech savvy but I like to think of my self as being pretty good (I build computers for a hobby as well as I am a mechanical engineering student). He said that he had heard about a thing on the BB where it can automatically delete messages and calls from people after the calls have been received or the messages have been read. Does this setting exist, if so how do I turn it on. Thanks.
    07-03-08 12:50 AM
    I don't know of a setting but if the device memory is low or gone, it will automatically delete that stuff. Maybe thats what was happening to your friend.
    07-03-08 12:59 AM
    OK, thanks alot.
    07-03-08 01:35 AM
    i have never heard of that setting before

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-03-08 01:47 AM
    Agree with garz

07-03-08 02:09 AM
    Agree with garz

Wow...

Well, you can always just manually delete each message after you read it. It works for me. I'm not sure why you would want your call log to immediately erase though... unless you're trying to hide a number from someone...

As far as automatic deletion goes, the only option is to go into your inbox, hit Menu>Options>General Options>Keep Messages: The lowest setting right now is 15 days, at which point it will automatically delete any messages over 15 days old.

If this is truely a privacy concern of yours, the best thing to do would be enable auto-lock, that way you can be sure no one can access the device at all without your permission.
    Last edited by Kronk; 07-03-08 at 04:21 AM.
    07-03-08 04:18 AM
    Wow...

Well, you can always just manually delete each message after you read it. It works for me. I'm not sure why you would want your call log to immediately erase though... unless you're trying to hide a number from someone...