hey guys,

a BB newbie here, hope someone here can help, posted yesterday but it seems to have vanished - not sure why?

Been looking at jumping onto the BB wagon for a few weeks now but my upgrade was not due till xmas so i thought I would pick up a used BB off ebay.

So I managed to get a mint 8320 off ebay, wasn't sure if it was locked so was thinking about getting it unlocked as it was originally on the BT Mobile network. Stumbled upon a webpage that showed how to check it was unlocked and by typing MEPD in the SIM card option I found that the phone was alreadty unlocked (network showed as disabled).

I have tried both Vodafone contract and T-mobile pay-as-you-go SIM cards but keep getting 'Searching for Network' message initially and then 'No Network' message. The Voda SIM does sometimes show a GSM signal but won't allow calls (maybe this is due to BT Mobile piggy-backing on the Voda network?).

Anyone help? I've tried removing the battery and replacing it after 5 minutes or so and still not working. Do I need to have BIS added to my account for the SIM card to work in the BB 8320? Or has the unlock process not worked?

Also, there desn't seem to be anyway of getting a BT SIM card to try in the phone as they don't do pre-paid and i don't know anyone with a BT mobile phone.

Thanks for reading, hope someone can help
    08-27-09 04:34 AM
    Yes, you need the BIS data plan.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-27-09 04:40 AM
    Yes, you need the BIS data plan.

Ah, i see, thank you for the response.

It's odd that by putting any SIM card in I don't get any network coverage and to use the phone to just make calls and send text messages requires the BIS data plan. Well will give my service provider (Vodafone) a call later today to provision BIS on my account and see if that works. Hopefully won't have any problems with having the PIN/phone registered on the BT Mobile network!
    08-27-09 06:25 AM