Ok, I'll admit - I'm new at this. I've downloaded the 4.5 version for my 8310 and it's loaded just fine on my computer...however I have no idea how to get it to transfer over to my phone? I've plugged the data cord in, looked through the desktop manager, but to no avail. My phone is still carrying 4.2

What am I missing?

Also - what calendar program do you recommend to use?

Thanks!
    01-18-09 02:47 PM
    To upgrade the most easy way: The first thing you do you is go to the stickies at the top of the forums, I'm assuming you have a curve because I pretty much limit my advice to curves. to find them, open the 83xx forum.

The first 5 threads will be highlighted with yellow and each contains a link to a 4.5xx OS. Find your device there and open the one for your device.

You will then follow the link to your device's OS download page.The blackberry download page will have a dropdown menu that will contain several different device software files. Click on your device and then click on download the OS for your handheld. When it starts to download, select save and not run. Save it to your PC's desktop.
    Once it has downloaded.

Don't do anything yet, you need to get a copy of desktop manager 4.6. It is the same process, go to the stickies and fid the DM software link and go get version 4.6 without Media manager and download it to your pc, make sure to save and not run. I also recommend 4.6 dm instead of 4.7 because some people have had trouble with 4.7.
    Once you have both apps saved to your PC, you will need to install them to your pc.

First step is to install desktop manager. Doubleclick on the file and start the installation process. Once it has installed, plug your device in, start desktop manager and then start backup restore and make a backup copy.