I am new to CB here.
    I ♥ using YIM and I downloaded the YIM version that came with my BB. I am wondering, if and when I send an IM and when I receive an IM; does that count towards my text count?

I am sorry if there was a thread about this already but I could not find anything. If there is a thread could ya link me please?

Thanks yall!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-19-09 11:59 PM
    No, it's data.
    04-20-09 12:07 AM
    So it doesn't matter who I have for my cell company?

Last edited by jayme07; 04-20-09 at 12:24 AM.
    04-20-09 12:21 AM
    Nope. It's part of the BB data plan. You are connected by BIS (Blackberry Internet Service). By the way, I love the way you used a heart instead of the word love. It's cute.
    04-20-09 12:30 AM
    That's good to know its part of the data plan! I'm an avid user of YIM. Haha.
    As for the ♥, once I found out I could use it and it would show up I saved it as an auto-text!

Last edited by jayme07; 04-20-09 at 12:48 AM.
    04-20-09 12:45 AM
    yahoo instant messenger does count as a text the only thing that dont count as a text is blackberry messenger ive asked over and over again at verizon and this is what they tell me every time
    04-23-09 02:18 AM
    If you download the Mobile IM program (which includes AIM, YIM,MSN) from the VZW apps, messages are billed as text.

If you download YIM, AIM, MSN, Google Talk, etc from the BlackBerry apps, the messages are billed as data.

i don't think too many folks use VZWs Mobile IM application anymore. That's the program with 3-in-1.

04-23-09 02:25 AM
    yahoo instant messenger does count as a text the only thing that dont count as a text is blackberry messenger ive asked over and over again at verizon and this is what they tell me every time
    This is incorrect. All IM apps are data. There are one or two clients
    (OZ Messenger for instance) but again, the standalone apps do not use SMS.
    04-23-09 02:28 AM