Hi, Noob here. I bought what was billed as a "new" Curve 8330 for Alltel on Ebay. Phone and text work fine, but I had no data. No email, no browser, no Globe icon. Alltel couldn't figure out what was wrong. While trying to fix it, I discivered that under "Manage Connections" the data service network is Verizon!

The seller has offered to replace it, but I have since found it that the seller is extremely shady (despite excellent feedback). I am wondering if there is a way to fix the hack (or maybe it is just an Alltel cover on a Verizon phone) without risking another damaged phone from the seller.

Thanks in advance for any help.
    05-14-09 09:32 PM
    CDMA phone right?? It only works with the provider that produced it. I would return to seller for the Alltel phone. You have time with ebay to return the phone. How do you know the guy is shady but has excellant feedback??
    05-14-09 09:35 PM
    U could always contact ebay about it and try to screw their excellent feedback. There always a way to fix problems like this. Talk to the right ppl and it will get worked out

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-15-09 02:37 AM
    Check out this thread. A lot of advice for dealing with eBay sellers when things don't go right:

http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/i-v...e-ebay-228021/

Especially about using PayPal's dispute and claims process.

05-15-09 03:02 AM
    Verizon bought out Alltel. Your connection is with Verizon and bill with Alltel. My roommate has Alltel and his service is a lot better since the buy out.

05-15-09 06:07 AM
    Verizon bought out Alltel. Your connection is with Verizon and bill with Alltel. My roommate has Alltel and his service is a lot better since the buy out.