I'm new to BB's and I'm about to get a 8310 Curve from AT&T but I'm not planning to get a data plan.. Is that okay to use the Berry without a data?
    06-19-08 03:54 AM
    i think data plan is what gets your default e-mail push, BB Messenger, and BB Browser to work. There are some alternatives though... I just don't know how you will get charged if you will use a regular (default non BIS) data plan.

Nonetheless, my two cents SMS, Calls, and normal mobile features will still work. No BB whistles though
    06-19-08 03:59 AM
    If you're not going to get a data plan, you might as well just get a regular phone since that's all your BB will essentially be. You're just going to end up frustrated at all the things available to you that you can't even touch.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    06-19-08 04:17 AM
    XD

I'm not planning to use it as a business/ internet device, Just a phone and texting device

xD I like the design and things on BB's and smartphones in general, but I don't want to pay the internet bills because I almost always have access to the internet at home...
    06-19-08 04:20 AM
    If you're not going to get a data plan, you might as well just get a regular phone since that's all your BB will essentially be. You're just going to end up frustrated at all the things available to you that you can't even touch.

agree. you would better appreciate its power though with one. not pushing you but just a thought from a first time BB user...
    06-19-08 04:24 AM
    A Blackberry without a data plan is just a plain old cel phone. Boring.

What brings a Blackberry to life is data flow. This comes in several flavors.

Internet access
    Blackberry highly secure push email
    Blackberry instant messaging