Hi...NooB here. Second time posting this!

Basically, I have a BB 8330 that I bought because the agent told me I could use it internationally. That was obviously not true. I am planning on going to Spain for a few months. Should I pay extra and change to the 8830, or is there a way for me to switch carriers when I go there with my current BB?

I know it does not have the SIM card. But could I flash? Vodafone in Spain has BB Curves but not the 8330. Is that a problem?

Does flashing and unlocking (and putting a new SIM card in) give you a new number?

My goal would be to use the phone in Spain with a local number so it wouldn't be long distance to call my contacts in Spain.

Lot's of questions! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Tiffany
    09-10-08 03:21 PM
    No you can't use the 8330 it's a CDMA phone, the other curves are GSM.
    09-10-08 03:45 PM
    The 88' would be your best bet becasue it supports both CDMA (North America) and GSM (International).

The BlackBerry� 8830 World Edition smartphone is the stylish way to get things done. It’s the first CDMA BlackBerry smartphone capable of roaming globally on GSM�/GPRS networks*. So you can travel the world with full mobile voice and data coverage, without having to change smartphones, phone numbers or email addresses.
    When you get to Spain, buy a prepaid SIM card from a local carrier. The number will be assigned to the SIM card, not the device.
    09-10-08 03:48 PM
    Hi...NooB here. Second time posting this!

Basically, I have a BB 8330 that I bought because the agent told me I could use it internationally. That was obviously not true. I am planning on going to Spain for a few months. Should I pay extra and change to the 8830, or is there a way for me to switch carriers when I go there with my current BB?

I know it does not have the SIM card. But could I flash? Vodafone in Spain has BB Curves but not the 8330. Is that a problem?