I recently became the owner of a used BB Curve 8310 from eBay. When I went through Setup Wizard, and tried creating a new e-mail address, it told me there was already an account linked with the device. According to AT&T Cust. Svce., the previous owner is apparently still linked with the account, and they cannot change that.

Since i got the 'Berry from eBay, and the seller was a re-seller (likely a pawn shop or some such), there is no easy way to get a hold of the previous owner... is there ANY way at all to create a new email address given the situation, or am I stuck without that feature? Since the 'Berry isn't for work/supplied by work, I am not on Enterprise, nor can I ask my place of work's tech people for help. I am new to the 'Berry scene, and new to the forums as well... please be gentle!
    04-24-09 03:44 PM
    They lied, AT&T can remove the PIN from the previous email accounts so you can set up your email accts. Try calling CS again, maybe you will get someone more helpful.
    04-24-09 03:48 PM
    I have sprint and they don't do nothing to let me create a new account. I have the same problem
    05-03-09 05:18 PM
    They lied, AT&T can remove the PIN from the previous email accounts so you can set up your email accts. Try calling CS again, maybe you will get someone more helpful.
    Well, they wont release it if the account is in bad standing.
    05-03-09 05:21 PM
    yeah but the phone I activated with my account
    05-03-09 05:31 PM
    You can still activiate it sure, but IF the account was in bad standing, they wont release it.

Id maybe call back and see if they cant release it, otherwise your gonna have to try your best to contact the previous owner.. do you know who the carrier was on that?
    05-03-09 05:36 PM
    The phone is labeled AT&T and is NOT unlocked, so the previous owner must've also been an AT&T/Cingular user.