1. Livermore's Avatar
    My Classic won't detect my sim card. I regularly change my sim cards between my phones and now my Classic won't read the sim card. Anyone have this problem? Remedy?
    11-27-16 04:31 PM
  2. Lostboy5151's Avatar
    Sometimes it's the little things that cause the most problems.
    When's the last time you cleaned your device. I mean really cleaned it?
    Dust and other thing in the air build up in your ports and with the way you handle your sim card, oils from your hands build up and cause contact problems. You should always have a can of condensed air on hand to blow out the ports and a mixture of 1/2 white vinegar and 1/2 filtered water in a spray bottle to clean the outside. That mixture is also safe for wide screen TV's, monitors and so on.
    11-27-16 08:56 PM
  3. Livermore's Avatar
    thanks for the response. I did blow the sim card tray slot but I'll try condensed air.

    Also an option would be to security wipe my phone. I noticed my Classic won't allow me to do it. Once it prompts me to type in my password, and then verify the password again, i'll press enter and nothing will happen. Anyone know of a way to security wipe the phone or anything from the power buttons/vol button?
    11-27-16 11:53 PM
  4. undefinederror's Avatar
    thanks for the response. I did blow the sim card tray slot but I'll try condensed air.

    Also an option would be to security wipe my phone. I noticed my Classic won't allow me to do it. Once it prompts me to type in my password, and then verify the password again, i'll press enter and nothing will happen. Anyone know of a way to security wipe the phone or anything from the power buttons/vol button?
    If you feel that you need to wipe the device, then first you should delete a ton of stuff first. Delete what you can, like the email accounts, texts, files etc. If you don't do that, then there is a chance the security wipe will take an extremely long time (up to 3 or 4 days).

    So, since the security wipe feature has a reputation of taking way too long, i'd suggest getting an autoloader, and re-installing the OS that way. (if you feel you want a completely fresh install)

    http://forums.crackberry.com/bb10-le...rchive-943672/

    Posted via CB10
    11-28-16 09:24 PM
  5. mvsalvino's Avatar
    BlackBerry Link has a device reset feature. I'd recommend that over autoloaders since it's a bit more "official". I've used both and the device reset is pretty quick and easy.

    As others have said here, a security wipe is NOT the same as reloading the OS. I'd recommend reloading OS as that actually does a cleaner reset. Security wipe just wipes your files and settings.

     C L A S S I C
    11-29-16 12:16 AM
  6. mvsalvino's Avatar
    Also, if you're on T-Mobile USA, this thread might be helpful -> http://forums.crackberry.com/blackbe...doors-1090262/

     C L A S S I C
    11-29-16 12:20 AM
  7. Livermore's Avatar
    I took my classic into a repair shop. The guy was really good and cool. He took the back of the classic off and fiddled around and it works now!
    11-29-16 12:44 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-29-16, 02:20 PM
  2. Recommendations for Priv SD card
    By fmb8 in forum BlackBerry Priv
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-02-16, 01:19 PM
  3. how do i switch apps from my phone to my sd card?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-16, 01:13 PM
  4. How Do You Know When Your SD Card Is Going Bad?
    By rojas72 in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-16, 12:01 AM
  5. how to use sd card music and search at same time?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-16, 11:16 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD