Note: I'm not a BlackBerry newbie. I used to moderate BlackBerryForums.com ten years ago, in 2004 -- and also am the creator of the "BlackBerry Thumb Touch Typing Guide" (google it)

By "deterministic", I mean the ability to execute an exact sequence of button presses, and you are guaranteed to be in a specific screen without needing to tap the touchscreen/trackpad. This was almost always possible on BlackBerry 9900, and most older keyboarded BlackBerries. On these, the phonecall "End" key acted as a HOME button (like the iPhone home button) so I am glad it's back on Classic! What does "End" key do, when you're not in a phone call?

Once you enabled Homescreen->Options->"Launch via Typing Application Shortcuts", You could do this on a BlackBerry 9900:

[End Key]C
    ....This 2-key sequence begins composing an email, no matter what previous screen you were in.
    ..........[End Key] goes to the HOME screen
    ..........C launches the Email Compose screen

[End Key]A
    .....This 2-key sequence brings up the addressbook on 9900
    ..........A launches the Addressbook

[End Key]Cjoh sm[Enter]Hello[Enter]Please call ASAP[Menu][Menu]
    .....This key sequence sends an email, from any screen (even in the middle of a game app) by keyboard alone, without touching the touchscreen or trackpad at all!
    ..........C starts composing email
    .........."joh sm" searches contacts for name (e.g. "John Smith")
    ..........[Enter] selects name in contacts, then opens email editor
    .........."Hello" enters text into the subject line
    ..........[Enter] moves cursor to email body field
    .........."Please call ASAP" enters the body
    ..........[Menu][Menu] sends the email -- doubletapping the menu button. First [Menu] press displays pop-up menu which shows "Send" as default menu item, and then next [Menu] press selects this menu item.