It IS true... higher resolution means that the processor has to work harder to process the information to display in those pixels. Less resolution, less strain in the processor

Several LG G3 (with 2.5k display) owners have lowered they resolution to 1080p and saw a significant improvement in battery life.
    Higher resolution alone does not mean more battery consumption. Screen size, screen technology used along with resolution does. Looking at resolution alone and not at the other two factors is a narrowed focus argument.

I am not an engineer nor do I claim to be one - but several engineers I am working with at JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) would tell you differently.
    Last edited by robert_in_la; 11-16-14 at 04:28 PM.
    Brandon Tobias likes this.
    11-16-14 03:41 PM
    Higher resolution alone does not mean more battery consumption. Screen size, screen technology used along with resolution does. Looking at resolution alone and not at the other two factors is a narrowed focus argument.

I am not an engineer nor do I claim to be one - but several engineers I am working with at JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) would tell you differently.
    Of course we assume we are comparing a screen with the same "standard" in technology, not comparing a 160x160 from 1995 to a 4k display from today.

More pixels need more computing power to render each pixels. If you buy a PC and you want to play games smooth at 4k resolution, not only you will need a powerfull CPU and GPU, you also need a powerfull Power Supply. It has been like that since computers exist, and it's not changing now.

That's why when you play a game on your phone, it drains the battery, because games need more processing power, so does more resolution. That's why LG G3 users have better battery life, when they lower their resolution (even when the screen is exacly the same)

+pixels = +processor usage = +power usage