router reboot fixes all
    04-06-09 06:30 PM
    Ok, some success. It appears to be working ok at the moment - I rebooted my router and deleted the profile on the handset, then re-established the connection and saved the profile. Some occasional dropouts around the house, but that could well be due to signal interference. It's wonderful living near an airport...

To 701: I'm not sure if I have a BIS connection on my phone. I know that may sound a little weird, but I'm very new to this and learning as I go Is a BIS connection something I would need to purchase/install as a seperate component? or is it a wi-fi statistic I should be looking out for? Also I think resending my service books is probably something I should do anyway, but actually I have no idea how to do it. What's the best way to resend the service books?

Thanks again everybody Wow, the wonderful world of Blackberry's........ lol
    04-07-09 12:25 AM
    Ok, I seem to have total success. I wish I could pin the problem down to one thing in particular...but I can't. Initially I did as I said and added the MAC address of the BB to the router (and every other thing I have going through it too). This did nothing. Then I stopped the DHCP. Apparently you can't plug in a static IP to the BB??? I didn't realize this. So I ended up assigning a static IP to each MAC address on the network, and still allowing DHCP so that the BB could negotiate with the router. Still gray. I experimented with So I did a hard reset w/factory defaults on the router. Rinse, repeat. After the reset and reconfigure, SUCCESS.

I can't say for sure, but the reset seemed to do the trick. For whatever reason, my range seems to have greatly improved as well. It went from about 15 feet to 45 - 50 feet of solid signal. I was truely worried that it was a hardware problem with my baby...glad it wasn't!!

Thanks again for all the feedback!
    04-07-09 02:27 PM
    No problems here.. 4.6.0.216
    04-07-09 03:17 PM