1. Iam Lc's Avatar
    I have a bb9900 recently , I was always an iphone user ,so I'm pretty newbie with bb , the problem I have now is I am unable to use whatsapp wechat apps despite I can connect to browser without any problem , I do not have a data plan nor bis cause this is just a spare phone for me to receive whatsapp calls and text , please help me !!! I am desperate for it to work
    10-12-13 12:12 AM
  2. raino's Avatar
    You need a BIS plan.
    10-12-13 12:51 AM
  3. goodayeh's Avatar
    Whatsapp will work over wifi with an active sim.
    ( without BIS )
    Just tried on my Storm 2 with TMobile pay as you go - works well.
    10-12-13 01:49 AM
  4. 46Nico40's Avatar
    blackberry data is compressed as well. just throwing that out there.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    10-12-13 03:33 AM
  5. raino's Avatar
    Whatsapp will work over wifi with an active sim.
    ( without BIS )
    Just tried on my Storm 2 with TMobile pay as you go - works well.
    The 9900 is OS7. Storm 2 is...OS5?
    10-12-13 04:29 PM
  6. eldricho's Avatar
    The 9900 is OS7. Storm 2 is...OS5?
    Still should be working over WiFi, no matter tho

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-13 04:44 PM
  7. raino's Avatar
    Still should be working over WiFi, no matter tho
    Starting with OS6 I think, BBOS became more restrictive with what you can and cannot do with a WiFi plan. Regardless, Whatsapp "recommends" (whatever that means) a full BIS plan to use the app. See here, all the way at the bottom.
    10-12-13 06:05 PM
  8. goodayeh's Avatar
    The 9900 is OS7. Storm 2 is...OS5?
    So I switched sim card from Storm 2 to my Bold 9900.
    it works fine over wifi only.

    Whatsapp recomends BIS so it can be used with either wifi or cel. provider.
    10-12-13 09:17 PM
  9. superairwolf's Avatar
    Same problem here. When I left my company, my BIS plan also terminated. I was using my own 9900 handset. Only discovered then that whatsapp on 9900 running OS7 doesnt work on wifi only.

    Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk now Free
    10-15-13 11:40 AM
  10. goodayeh's Avatar
    Same problem here. When I left my company, my BIS plan also terminated. I was using my own 9900 handset. Only discovered then that whatsapp on 9900 running OS7 doesnt work on wifi only.

    Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk now Free
    You connect on wifi , start Whatapp & get an error message ?
    10-15-13 12:25 PM
  11. mcgilli's Avatar
    NEver had a BIS plan ever. Whatsapp works fine on wi-fi.
    10-15-13 07:08 PM

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Troubles on my Z10
    By Dave Kains in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-31-14, 08:56 AM
  2. [Opinion] Whatsapp Seems Not OK! We Need BBM
    By whatsever in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-16-13, 11:21 PM
  3. whatsapp is not working properly
    By pavan thumma in forum BlackBerry Torch Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-13, 12:08 AM
  4. 9550 Screen Dead, How can I Turn Off WIFI so i Can Backup Contacts?
    By Umbambi Ndiwenyu in forum BlackBerry Storm Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-13, 11:31 AM
  5. Rogers and Wifi Calling
    By AcADIeN in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-13, 10:15 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD