Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum so I'm not sure if this is in the right section or not,

This is my issue, I'm new to smartphones and am thinking of getting a BlackBerry Bold. I don't have much money to spend (if I did, I'd buy the 9900 in a flash) so I'm stuck with buying on Craigslist...

I'm just wondering if I should:

A) Get a BBold 9780/9700 which are fairly cheap

B) Wait until the 9900 decreases in price

C) Think of getting another type of smartphone that may be cheaper.

Sorry again if this is in the wrong section,

Thanks to for reading this and I look forward to your responses!
    08-18-11 07:16 AM
    Depends what you want the smartphone for, mate. Do you want to use lots of apps? If so, then get Android or iOS. If you need it more for messaging and communications, then get a BB9780 for now. It'll serve you very well.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-18-11 08:11 AM
    Definitely depends on your needs. The 9780 is pretty solid. However, if you're a gamer, then an iPhone, Android may be best. I love my 9780, though. Take a look at AppWorld on the BlackBerry website and see what is available that would interest you.. You should be able to buy a 9780 now for a reasonable price. Good luck on your mission!
    08-18-11 08:35 AM
    Scroll down on cb website
    There you will find other wesites (tipb, android central, etc,) with diffrent platforms(iOS,android,webOS, symbian, windows phone)
    Read reviews there and see what fits your pocket and need

08-18-11 10:28 AM
    i say find an old 8700 and put 4.5 on that bad boy and rock it for what its worth!
    its a cheap alternate
    08-18-11 10:33 AM
    i say find an old 8700 and put 4.5 on that bad boy and rock it for what its worth!
    its a cheap alternate
    I hope that was not a joke, because it was not funny at all...

If you're really down on the bucks, I'd say your list should be something like this:

1- 8520
    2- 9300
    3- 9700
    4- 9780