I am still fairly new to the tech side of blackberry's so please be kind.

I have a BB Bold 9700 on T-Mobile. OS 5.0.0.330

The issue, as the title says is that the UMA keeps dropping, when it drops it disconnects then when it reconnects it gives error W004, something about not being able to contact the DNS server.

Steps I have tired to fix the issue. Upgraded incrementally and out right though all the official T-Mobile OS versions .330 .568 .714 (might be a little off on ver numbers). Tried 2 different router/modem setups, tried enabling and disabling wireless security measures, set router settings to open all ports/traffic it it first (port forwarding ect) rebooted all equipment several times. Connected to the internet at remote locations (local coffee shop ect)...

I have tried all the things I could fine on fixing this issue with no luck. Any pointers?
    07-04-10 06:15 PM
    so you have upgraded the OS to the latest version?

so even with all security settings off of the router, it wasnt keeping a solid connection?

by chance are there any firewalls on the router or modems you can edit? like the software? if there is a firewall installed on the modem/router, try to de-activate it and try again... firewalls play havoc on BBs and UMA
    07-04-10 06:18 PM
    Router settings have been checked and set to allow the phone unrestricted access to the net. This includes disabling all firewalls and ect...
    07-05-10 12:50 PM
    Might be a T-Mobile issue....I know sometimes when I lose wifi/UMA that it at times is a T-Mobile connection issue...might be something to check into.

Good luck!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-05-10 02:42 PM
    I was having UMA issues until I upgraded to .714 (T-mobile) and now the UMA is strong and the call quality (which was terrible) is crystal clear. You post said you had tried .714 so you may want to return it.
    07-05-10 04:49 PM