Well after having trackball issues on a ebay tour that I already fixed once the second time didn't go well. I stripped a torx screw and I think I damaged the antenna. So it is time to use my upgrade to get a new phone.

My only real 2 choices are the Droid X and BB Bold 9650. I really do love the BB email even though I am not a professional ( i am in the trades) and the tour also held up to being in my pocket all day at work and never broke.
    The droid X seems to be a powerful device with great web browsing (something bb lacks right now). The downfall I can see right away is the touchscreen and the size I feel like the thing would snap in 2 in my pocket.

Have there been any tour like problems with the bold or has it been a overall solid device?
    any suggestions would be great.
    Last edited by joe917; 07-04-10 at 02:51 PM.
    07-04-10 02:47 PM
    One can only hope that the trackpad is a perfected system. Obviously, it cannot get dirty/greasy/gunky like a BALL. The phone is probably too new to make any other judgments about its long term survivability.

Just this morning, was playing with playlists on my Bold and the kitty demanded attention. Petted it and then back to the Bold. With the Tour, I always felt it was necessary to autoclave my fingers before rolling the trackball. Rim blew it when they moved the trackball entirely within the device, leading to breakdowns like yours trying to get to it through a bunch of screws and cabling.
    07-04-10 03:30 PM
    So far so good with my Bold, BUT I'm only 2 days in, but it seems VERY solid.
    07-04-10 03:44 PM
    One can only hope that the trackpad is a perfected system. Obviously, it cannot get dirty/greasy/gunky like a BALL. The phone is probably too new to make any other judgments about its long term survivability.