I have a bold 9000 and I am on an AT&T plan that includes mobile internet and a tethering plan. I am having problems tethering and cannot get it to work. I have went through the entire process with AT&T and still cant get this to work. Im a truckdriver by trade and going to college online while on thre road so that I dont have to drive a truck forever. I would really love some assistance from the masters of BB here on getting this to work.

I have the AT&T connection manager and i get an error 638, which is a timeout. AT&T and i have setup the dial-up settings and had no luck still. I always get the 638. I dont know if there is anything on my computer that is blocking the connection attempt and was hoping that you all could help me.

I am running...
    BB Desktop v5.0.1
    BB OS v4.6.0.304
    Avast v5.0.545
    If any information is needed please let me know and i will post it I am subscribing to this thread for email alerts, so please, help a pour soul
    06-05-10 09:16 PM
    Had the same problem a few months back. It was a shared Dll problem on my laptop. I downloaded PC Med Kit and fixed the Shared Dll problem. I didn't get my tethering back until I reloaded windows on my laptop with the start up disk. Since then I have had intermittent problems with the Bold resetting during tethering. I believe there is an issue with the communication manager and a windows update. It took me about 8 hours on the phone with several phone calls with ATT during business hours to figure out they didn't have a clue. It all coincided with a windows update I'm on Vista.
    06-06-10 10:10 PM
    do you know what the dll was called?
    did this pc med kit fix the whole problem?

I am on vista and I was hoping to get this figured out tonight. I have to get my tethering working so i can access my college easier. Any instructions would be great

I found this and not sure if this will work (forums.crackberry.com/f83/bold-modem-tether-98522/#post1085698)