Hi,

I am a newbie here and I am not sure where to ask this kind of question. I posted the same question in Desktop Software. I am sorry if it is not allowed to do double post.

So here's my story:

I am moving from O2 to Orange. My old Bold 9000 is on O2 and my new Bold 9780 is on Orange. So, different devices and different network providers. Both devices/SIM cards are active and locked to its own provider. First I want to move all my contacts and BBM to the new device (9780 Orange) before cancelling my O2 contract.

My question is, can I use Switch Device Wizard to copy from 9000 O2 to 9780 Orange? Will it not copy O2 specific service books and overwrite Orange ones if I do that?

Another option I know is to use Backup/Restore facility. However, will this facility automatically re-invite my BBM contacts to the new PIN like what Switch Device Wizard does?

Thanks a lot
    08-24-11 12:43 PM
    Forgot to add that;

I am on BIS with O2 (old network) and on BES with Orange (new network)
    08-24-11 03:56 PM
    Yes you can. Service books are pushed by the carrier (and BES Admin in your case) so if you thing something is not working right just call hithe Admin and have him push them again.

If it is a work issued device, I would not install any apps or load any personal info on it thou. If it is yours, I would be curious on why the BES account...
    08-24-11 04:31 PM
    Thanks diegonel,

When you say yes I guess it is for using Switch Device Wizard. I will try your suggestion today and hopefully everything is going to be fine.
    08-25-11 01:13 AM
    Nei. Diego Nei

Let us know how it goes.

EDIT: From deleted thread/post.

Bad move having BOTH devices active (also, no need for a new thread but here we go).

1- On the old phone, BBM > Menu > Options > Scroll down to Backup;
    2- Bakcup to the SD card;
    3- Delete all contacts from the old phone. Turn it off;
    4- Move the backup file to the new phone;