Just switched phones (Old bold died) restored new one from a backup but all my BBM contacts show as unreachable (big red X through them all) how do I fix this withough re adding them all...everything else is working email, sms,FB, ETC
    07-09-09 08:02 AM
    Did your PIN change?
    07-09-09 08:35 AM
    yes I now have a different pin I have an option to send a pin update but it isnt working
    07-09-09 08:57 AM
    I'm no BBM expert, but it could be the reason.
    07-09-09 08:59 AM
    I've switched my Bold once and when I reloaded all of my contacts, etc, it pushed my new PIN to my contacts and it updated seamlessly. I think it works when you use "Device Switch," as opposed to backup and restoring.

Try that out if possible.
    07-09-09 09:17 AM
    I cant use device switch as the original phone is dead...I om=nly have backup files to rely on...
    07-09-09 10:54 AM
    Just did the device switch with the Desktop Manager. All went well but couldn't get emails. Rogers tech had me log onto my account at rogers.com/bis and switch the PIN. Hope this helps.
    Marv
    07-09-09 11:03 AM
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys I have started to re-enter individually
    07-09-09 11:15 AM
    BBM shouldn't be affected. As another poster above mentioned, the BBM app does a really good job integrating your new pin with your contacts (on bbm only, not in the address book)

For all BIS related stuff however, you do need to log into your account. If you do it from the device, the site picks up the change automatically and asks if you want to change the pin. Atleast, this was my experience all 3 times i switched devices.
    07-09-09 11:18 AM
    This is what you do.

Take the sim card out of the phone. Restore the the backup file once again. Now you can put the sim card back in. Allow the phone to get to the homescreen.