I just bought a BB Bold and I'm a total noob in BB. I first didn't even know what BIS or BES was since my company is supporting BB to begin with.

But I wanted a 3GS and then deceived by the features, I bought a BB on ebay not too expensive and brand new. I'm very happy with the machine but one thing that perpetually troubles me is the red asterix which doesn't appear on my mailbox icon. I can battery reboot or send a new service book to fix the problem temporarily but few hours later and may be one sync done, the fonctionnality wouldn't work anymore.

I know I haven't paid much for the phone but I paid enough to call it "an expensive piece of device". And while I praise its ergonomy and its features, I believe these tiny bugs are really pulling down its comparable value compared to iPhone.

If you have a solution that will definitely fix this problem, I'm more than willing to listen and rectify my statement.
    06-22-09 05:25 PM
    You probably have your SMS/MMS and email inboxes separate. The red asterisk is showing up, just not on your "Messages" icon - it's showing up on your "SMS/MMS" icon.
    06-22-09 06:06 PM
    Hey there and welcome to the world of BB!
    Just so I understand the issue, is the problem the asterisk does not appear to indicate you have mail that's the problem? The only thing I can think of is you received the mail initially but may have already read it via a computer. Also I assume you are using a default theme that came with the phone.
    06-22-09 06:08 PM
    You probably have your SMS/MMS and email inboxes separate. The red asterisk is showing up, just not on your "Messages" icon - it's showing up on your "SMS/MMS" icon.

Or what he said!!! =P Never occurred to me that =)
    06-22-09 06:10 PM