and there is nothing wrong with wanting to pose... dont we all do it, in different ways
    03-15-09 06:24 PM
    So is the answer Yes or NO? Can you get internet access without the Data Plan.
    Baz from Australia
    03-30-09 08:11 PM
    yes, if you have wifi available
    03-30-09 08:15 PM
    I'm fine with people using Blackberries without data plans, I just don't understand paying more for a 3g phone and then never use 3g?

The 8900 would be perfect for wifi only users, no 3g and double the app memory and cheaper.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Well I am also a student and have a Blackberry Bold. Considering i have wifi everywhere I would want to use it, I really see no reason to pay for data.

I can't get the monthly student discount someone mentioned b/c I'm not the main account holder (on a family plan)

I got the bold b/c it has an amazing screen, I got a good deal, it has an awesome keyboard, and it's a million times better than my old phone lol.

The wifi is a nice plus. As for blackberry messenger, I don't think I'll miss it in the slightest as none of my friends use it (most of them have iphones actually lol). The keyboard is awesome and is great for texting, which is what I mainly use the phone for.

Why buy a 3g phone? b/c for some odd reason when I go home out to the middle of nowhere, I can get great 3g reception but the older edge is crap signal-wise lol. Plus, it looked cool