Going to try downloading "592" tomorrow. Please define what you mean when you use the word "wipe". I used Quickpull to clean the old OS when i first downloaded "509", and had no problems. I don't think you are referring to the memory wipe feature on the BB 9000, are you ? Please bear with me as i'm fairly new at this. I had planned on getting QuickLaunch in the near future, but maybe sooner is better than later.
    Using the program 'bbsak' there's an option to wipe the device, I believe it removes the OS off of the phone. This gives you a fresh foundation for your new OS install.
    04-11-10 07:09 PM
    My speaker is a little more 'uncrisp' than usual.
    04-11-10 07:10 PM
    O.K. I think i've got it. One question though. If i install QuickLaunch ( BBSAK )while i have the 509, then use it to uninstall the 509, will it be there when i install the 592 ? If not, how do i get it back ?
    04-11-10 07:49 PM
    O.K. I think i've got it. One question though. If i install QuickLaunch ( BBSAK )while i have the 509, then use it to uninstall the 509, will it be there when i install the 592 ? If not, how do i get it back ?
    Quicklaunch and BBSAK have nothing to do with each other.

Quicklaunch is installed on your phone and will either need to be reinstalled or you will need to make a backup of your apps.

BBSAK (BlackBerry Swiss Army Knife) is installed to your computer and will connect to your BlackBerry and wipe the device for you (remove the current OS and brick your phone temporarily) and then it will launch AppLoader for you to install the new OS. You can download it here:
    RIMGeeks.com • View topic - [Beta][10/25/09] BlackBerry Swiss Army Knife v1.7.0

Again, here is the link for proper upgrade/downgrade procedure. We are specifically talking about the "advanced" procedure which includes a wipe. Instead of using "jlcmdr" or "crackmem" as the following link says, I suggest using BBSAK...but any of the 3 will probably get the job done.