Hey guys,
    I'm new to this whole bb world. Made the huge leap from a crappy reg phone to the 9700 a month ago. Its been sweet till all the errors started happeneing. Was hoping someone could help me out.

Here are symptoms as I've noticed them:
    1) Wouldn't get audible notifications anymore. Now alerts, no alarms, no rintones,no nothing. Went to my ringtone/alert settings and did "TRY IT" to test a sound. The message I got was something about invalid filename. I got this msg even for sounds native to the bb device!
    I did a battery pull, then all was good

2) Same issue kept re-occuring and also noticed my battery would be 75% full when I went to bed. Then like RED (5%) when I woke up. The device was also HOT! I battery pull again. Voila! (Until the next time it happens)

3) Press voicedial button. Then it says "scanning contacts, please wait" it gets to 100% and does nothing. Even after an hour.

Anyone know whatts going on? The only thing I changed during this time frame was the SD card (2GB to 8GB). So I switched back to the old card. Issues still exist. I even deleted soduku (buddy told me to try this) but it didn't help.

Sorry about the long post. But I wanted to be thorough. HELP pls!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-28-10 08:43 AM
    Have you tried updating your device software? If you're uncomfortable updating to software thats not from your carrier, see if your carrier has an update. Otherwise try the latest 5.0.0.680 version. Also have you downloaded an recent apps? I've seen where some apps drain the battery or have a memory leak when idle.
    05-28-10 03:32 PM
    i have the exact same problem....my battery drained from 90% last night to 6% this morning. and i will have the "invalid ring tone" notification if i use the alarm

i closed all the applications yesterday to ensure that it was not caused by the applications.
    05-29-10 09:08 PM