This isnt my first BB but i'm no expert either. I got my Bold on Monday and had issues getting the media card i took out of my curve to show up in my computer over USB from the Bold. From my curve i'd plug in over usb and the card would show up as a drive on my computer. On the Bold it just wouldnt.

So here is what i did to finally fix it. It took several steps since i had no driver on my work computer for it (although my Curve worked flawless) so i had to install the driver first. I went to device mngr on my computer and saw when the blackberry was plugged it it had no driver.

Install Driver:
    1. went to Tronyx's site:
    hookedontronyx.com/6.htm
    2. Hosted Files -> Drivers then downloaded the English USB/Modem Drivers
    3. ran the install file and rebooted.
    4. got into Device Mngr again with my Bold plugged in over USB and saw it finally had a driver assigned (no yellow question mark or red exclamation mark)

so that is was done, i was still not able to see my media card over the USB but here is my second step....

1. went to Pinstack and signed up and downloaded the BB Storage Activation File from site: forums.pinstack.com/showthread.php?t=96938
    2. Extract all files to your desktop
    3. Plug in your BB (DO NOT start desktop manager)
    4. Double click on the "BB storage Activation new.bat" file
    5. A Window DOS box will pop up and ask for your BB password. Enter your password if you have one enabled. If not it wont ask you. A bunch of stuff will happen and then it will ask you to press any key. A few more things will happen and then the same process will occur again. I'm sure one time is good enough but i did it a few times.
    6. I noticed my BB had turned off during the process so it seems that was normal as my phone is not bricked.
    7. i unplugged my BB from the USB, pulled the battery and rebooted it.
    8. reboot your PC as well.