I would be extremely grateful if anyone could provide help on how to configure my unlocked blackberry bold to local carrier. Local carrier has only an available APN but not fixed IP. I just need to get connected to internet via opera mini as web browser and send and receive on my gmail account. I am new to blackberry world and just left windows mobile.
    Thank you in advance for any hint
    10-08-08 01:28 PM
    Welcome to CB my fellow WM convert! You'll be happy you switched!!

First, do you have a data plan with your carrier?
    10-08-08 01:30 PM
    Thanks for your assistance. I have a basic plan which I have used on my previous HTC windows mobile. All I want to do is get connected to gprs and I can use opera mini as a browser to check my gmail account.
    10-09-08 08:16 AM
    you need to spk to your carrier about getting the BIS data plan if you don't already have it. goto options/advanced/host routing table and menu key then register now. if your are set up this will resend service books. you will then need to log on to your providers BIS site and set up your email. once you have BIS there is no need for you to use opera mini to check your mail as it will then get automatically 'pushed' to the handset. hope this helps.
    10-09-08 08:23 AM
    Hi

Go to options > advanced options >TCP and enter the apn details there.

Have a look for your carriers APN details here:-

WebMessenger Inc. APN settings

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-09-08 08:23 AM
    Thank you for your advise,