11-14-13 04:40 AM
33 12
tools
    It appears there are 2 ways to get Gmail on your 9900. One is the old text based app like on earlier Blackberries. This is only good for emails with mostly text and practically, if not totally, useless for anything where graphics are an important part of the content.
    The other app is a seemingly "new" app which will give you the full graphic content of the email, however it has to download the content when you open each email. The UI, as previously noted, is not very good. Then when you open the email there is a floating "toolbar" that takes up about a quarter inch of the right side of the screen, so that covers part of the email you are trying to read. It's a bit unwieldy if you ask me.
    Because I work in IT I'm one of the few lucky people who has a Blackberry and and iPhone provided for me by my company. I can tell you the iPhone Gmail is currently far superior to the touch screen Bold I'm sorry to say. I really like the new 9900, much improved from the 9000. Fits in my pocket nicely and it's light and has some great features. And the Gmail is certainly better than the 9000, but still has a way to go to beat the iPhone. The graphic based program doesn't download any of the emails either so you have to be connected. The iPhone on the other hand will download them so I can read them on the subway which is one of the best times I have to catch up on unread mail.
    01-06-12 03:20 PM
    It appears there are 2 ways to get Gmail on your 9900. One is the old text based app like on earlier Blackberries. This is only good for emails with mostly text and practically, if not totally, useless for anything where graphics are an important part of the content.