Hi all,

I'm new to the Blackberry scene but have been reading for hours and trying to learn. I recently purchased a Bold 9650 and unlocked it in hopes of giving it to my girlfriend for use on her T Mobile account.

So far I have:

*Followed this tutorial, and successfully replaced the Verizon Service Books (still not sure what these are) with the T Mobile ones
    *Changed the APN to wap.voicestream.com
    *Under "Mobile Network Options", changed "Network Technology" to "GSM/UMTS" (was this even necessary?)

From what I am reading, I understand that I need to get her to manually send her service books from the T Mobile website in order to get her email working. Is this correct? If so, where does she go on the website to do this?

Her current data package in unlimited, and she currently has an Android phone. Will she need to change to a Blackberry Data package, or is this unnecessary?

The only problem is that I am mailing this phone to her (college girlfriend, not online, don't worry), and really want her to be able to just plug in her SIM card and have it work. I won't be able to test things myself and make sure they are working.

Sorry for all the questions, but I would be very appreciative for any answers. Thanks!
    07-24-11 05:47 PM
    Would I get more answers on the T Mobile forum?
    07-24-11 11:40 PM
    Yes about manually getting the service books from the T-Mobile website. I'm not sure exactly where.
    Well, I've herd that T-Mobile now just pushes service books with OS6 when it's registered. Not 100% sure about this though.
    She'll need a data plan WITH Blackberry Internet Service. Her current data plan won't work.
    Also, she won't get 3G. She'll only get EDGE.
    Last edited by californiablackberry; 07-25-11 at 12:08 AM.
    pcarson92 likes this.
    07-25-11 12:00 AM
    Yes about manually getting the service books from the T-Mobile website. I'm not sure exactly where.