Hi everyone,

I'm an almost total Blackberry newbie and my problem is very easy, I have an almost new 9900, before upgrading to the latest BB OS (7.0 to 7.1) I could hear the caller, after the upgrade I can't. If I flip it onto loudspeaker I can hear them OK.

I have tried a soft and hard reset to no avail.

I have now also downgraded the Bold to the earliest version 7.0 Bundle 1465 and this has made no difference.

Any clues anyone ?
    05-06-13 02:13 PM
    Hi everyone,

I'm an almost total Blackberry newbie and my problem is very easy, I have an almost new 9900, before upgrading to the latest BB OS (7.0 to 7.1) I could hear the caller, after the upgrade I can't. If I flip it onto loudspeaker I can hear them OK.

I have tried a soft and hard reset to no avail.

I have now also downgraded the Bold to the earliest version 7.0 Bundle 1465 and this has made no difference.

Any clues anyone ?
    Did you downgrade to the OS you had previously (where everything worked?) It could well be a blown speaker also, if that's the case then you can get it replaced, don't think it would be much trouble to. Sure there are many how to and DIY videos/instructions out there!
    05-06-13 04:14 PM
    Thx for the reply,

I downgraded to the lowest OS (7.0 bundle 1465) offered using BB Desktop. not sure this was the one my 9900 shipped with though.

I seems to big a coincidence that I upgrade to 7.1 and then lose sound.

There are some forum posts on here about certain APPs causing the problem, but my install was clean with no additional stuff loaded.

thx for the advice but I don't think the mic replacement is that easy.

Do you think Blackberry would repair it ? I mean their OS update caused it.
    05-06-13 05:02 PM
    I had the same problem until I downloaded the latest Official AT&T 7.1.0.862 OS, with no problems since. Regardless of what some people on here say, you always take a chance with leaks.
    05-06-13 05:18 PM
    HI again,