Can applications be stored and run from a microSD card?
    07-22-09 04:29 PM
    No, they cannot.
    07-22-09 04:31 PM
    That's what I thought. There are so many cool Bold apps and so little app memory. Hopefully, the Bold's successor will have at least 16GB.
    07-22-09 05:02 PM
    16 GBs of on board memory? I highly doubt it, perhaps 2 (and dare I say 3) but not 16.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-22-09 08:29 PM
    That's what I thought. There are so many cool Bold apps and so little app memory. Hopefully, the Bold's successor will have at least 16GB.
    There's more than you think. Load it up, it will be ok.
    07-22-09 08:53 PM
    Been thinkin for awhile. I think there must be a very good reason for RIM not to let users install apps on their external memory.
    I'm not a techie though, so can anybody give us an enlightment on this issue?

-judgin how programs seem to run a lot slower on platforms that let apps be installed on external cards, that's probably why (yes, I'm talkin about you, symbian and winmo!)
    07-22-09 08:54 PM
    From what I've read I believe it is a carry-over from their military testing days. By allowing apps to be stored only in the onboard flash memory, I believe it allowed for remote deletes of information in case your blackberry fell into the wrong hands.

So like as soon as the guy who has your BB turned it on, you would be able to remove and delete your data remotely. If they allowed it to be stored on the device hard disk or a memory card your information could be compromised.

I think it is ridiculous though. It is the the only thing holding BB Apps back while Apple is taking off like crazy.

Think about it, if they just allowed apps in device memory, there would be hardly any reason to upgrade from the Bold when you had 1 GB on onboard memory.

But you guys are getting ahead of yourselves. The Onyx which is the supposed Bold-upgrade only boasts 256 mb internal app memory.