I like everything about this upcoming bold9900.....but one thing is really bugging me whether to get this baby right away or wait for non-touch screen version. I do not know if RIM cares about ppl like me who hate touch screen. Or RIM can come up with some sort of apps or button which let users to disable touch screen....that'll be great!!
    05-17-11 02:58 AM
    I'm pretty the phone is 100% functional without ever touching the screen. The touch screen is there to enhance user experience and functionality.

Or are you afraid of pressing things by accident?
    05-17-11 03:21 AM
    you not obliged to use the touchscreen. the phone still has the trackpad for those who do not wish to use the touchscreen. for me the touchscreen will only be used when selecting things. using the trackpad to scroll to the relevant icon takes too long.
    05-17-11 04:56 AM
    Sometimes I like to type while laying on my back in bed. I've never used a Bold style phone before. Do you guys think typing while laying on your back could be cumbersome if you're trying to avoid accidently touching the screen?

Also, I've experienced a few near misses from dropping my iPhone when typing while laying on my back even though I had it in landscape mode. I wouldn't even attempt typing in portiat becuase that would just be asking for a face drop.
    Last edited by blue81to; 05-17-11 at 06:43 AM.
    05-17-11 06:37 AM
    If you're typing your fingers aren't near the screen so...............
    05-17-11 06:59 AM
    If you don't want a touch screen display I suggest waiting for the new Curve model (Apollo/Sedona) that is reported to come out later in the year.
    05-17-11 09:29 AM
    Sometimes I like to type while laying on my back in bed. I've never used a Bold style phone before. Do you guys think typing while laying on your back could be cumbersome if you're trying to avoid accidently touching the screen?