10-19-11 09:34 AM
33 12
tools
    Hi Crackberriers!

I'll start by saying I'm a complete BB noob so I do apologise if I ask some obvious questions in this post.

A friend of mine tells me he has a small batch of unbranded Bold 9900s and being that I'm the most computer literate person he knows he's asked me to try and get them working.

I'm looking at the OS 7 downloads but it seems that there are different versions for different carriers? Have I got this right? We're in the UK but I think that all versions of the 9900 are either GSM or world phones so that should mean it'll run on any network? Searching the forums seems to show people doing ok with the unbranded phones. Does that mean the OS is preinstalled or have these people downloaded the OS?

Any help anyone could give would be much appreciated!
    Thanks,
    mopatops
    Last edited by mopatops; 10-17-11 at 03:52 PM.
    10-17-11 03:48 PM
    If the imei starts with 044 then good luck...

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    10-17-11 04:06 PM
    You say that because I'm going to have trouble if they're 044? Could you explain why?
    Thanks
    10-17-11 04:35 PM
    You can install any carrier's OS and it should work. You just won't get certain carrier features, (wallpaper, apps, settings, etc.), but that shouldn't affect the overall use of the BB, such as email, texting, phone calls, browsing, etc.

I had an unbranded 9870 before my 9900 and I regularly installed different carrier OS and it was fine.
    10-17-11 09:39 PM
    But, just in case, you should call your carrier and double check. My carrier, Rogers, in Canada, said it didn't matter.
    10-17-11 09:40 PM
    That sounds like good news! My friend wants to use the cheaper BBs to bring potential customers to his business and I was wondering whether we were going to have to find and install a different OS for each customer. There are 6 big network carriers here in the UK so that would have been a nightmare.