I'm holding out for UMA to upgrade from my 9700. I was super disappointed as many others were regarding the lack of UMA when I walked in to T-mobile to purchase the 9900 on 8/31. Thankfully, the subject came up and the rep was kind enough to disclose this missing feature.

I live in an area where my cell service drops anywhere from 1/2 mile to within 5 feet of my home. I've had engineering surveys done and no plans to install a tower in the area. I rely on UMA and like one gentleman pointed out, use it like home phone, end the call before jumping in the car. So handoff isn't as important to me as it may be to others.

My 9700 is having lots of locking up issues, especially when I use my camera and send an MMS. I'm an IT professional so a T-mobile rep suggested I re-load the firmware. Ugh...like that's a project I want to do in my spare time.

Long story to get to this question... what are the odds that I, like many, hold out until Nov only to find out that it's pushed to a Q2 or Q3 release?

I'm wondering if I should just upgrade to 9780 and be done with it. Touchscreen is nice but I have the PlayBook so when it comes to email and other apps, I can use that.

Thanks so much for all the information you've shared!!!
    I feel as though I am in the same boat as you. In parts of my house UMA is essential and also when abroad (and I'm about to go to the Far East for a month of business travel) UMA is a great cost saver and gives better calls for the receiving party thinks it is from the USA and many auto features work that fail to work when using roaming. I am tempted to get the 9900 now and just switch the SIM back to my 9700 when I want to make a call. (Never hurts to carry two blackberries when in China and Thailand.)

Reloading your OS is not that bad, my IT guys do it for me about once every two months! It does help quite a lot on my 9700, a really fine product.

Thanks again to iwork4RIM, I just hope we really do see that add-on.
    09-13-11 02:56 PM