I've been using the Bold 9700 for 2 years, and my significant other #1 used a Bold 9700 for a year, then I took it away and gave it to significant other # 2, who has used it for another year. The ex, and my current like the Bold 9700, and so do I -- I've been living with a cracked camera lens for a year now. So the question is whether I buy her an iPhone 4s or a Bold 9900, and I might as well buy one or both for myself while I am at it. Walmart has a deal (like $120 for the 9900). I'm a little concerned that the bold 9900 is much bigger than the 9700 and it will just be awkward on my hip, and I can imagine myself being unhappy with the speed of the calendaring application of choice (i.e., PocketInformant). Companies increase the processing speeds of devices and then load on a more hungry OS and more hungry apps, so in the end the extra speed means nothing. Am I going to be sorry about buying two (2) Bold 9900?
    12-14-11 06:36 PM
    Have you looked at the 9790?
    12-14-11 08:23 PM
    I switched from a 9700 and yes it is certainly bigger but I hadn't even thought of it that it was bigger/awkward on my hip, its flatter so that helps. As far as switching from an Iphone that depends on what you wanna do with it. Personally, I would never ever buy an Iphone because my phone is a business tool not an entertainment device, and I use it hard. If the keyboard was a strong point get the 9900, it'l be love at first touch.
    12-14-11 08:27 PM
    I haven't yet investigated the 9790. I think I may be forced to carry an iPhone also. I have a jailbroken iPhone 4 and I use the wireless internet tethering for my meetings -- myself and also for clients to connect to the iPhone. I had problems with the 9700 micro usb becoming loose, and the data on the SD card would become corrupted (occurred several times while connected to the Mac).