tonight i notice the red light flashing quickly near the LED notification light... what is the purpose of it? isnt it for calls? it is on even when im not in a call..all night it has been, even when i lock the phone. is that normal?
    11-22-11 11:49 PM
    hmm Troll! seriously?
    11-22-11 11:53 PM
    Nothing overtly trollish about that. Calm down, have some dip, Xamanus.

Ryan, the pale flickering red light next to your LED is the proximity sensor that disables the touchscreen when the phone is against your ear on phone calls. Pull your battery; it should turn off.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    adelineeleanor likes this.
    11-23-11 12:00 AM
    Nothing overtly trollish about that. Calm down, have some dip, Xamanus.

Ryan, the pale flickering red light next to your LED is the proximity sensor that disables the touchscreen when the phone is against your ear on phone calls. Pull your battery; it should turn off.

thanks.. im sorry, im new to blackberry from the iphone side. i didnt know much. it was draining my battery somehow, i did the battery pull, its gone. thanks
    11-23-11 12:09 AM
    Welcome! You've come to the right place.
    11-24-11 08:14 PM
    Welcome to CB.

Btw, I didn't know the proximity sensor blinked.. I've never seen it blinking when on a call, or when I take the phone away from my ear after a call/during a call. I just thought it sensed when something was close to the device when on a call
    11-24-11 11:36 PM
    Welcome to CB.

Btw, I didn't know the proximity sensor blinked.. I've never seen it blinking when on a call, or when I take the phone away from my ear after a call/during a call. I just thought it sensed when something was close to the device when on a call
    Yeah, mine blinks too, but only when on a call.

And welcome aboard OP
    11-25-11 05:13 AM