Yes, if you are using a Rogers on 9900, then you are using AT&T's service books. You will not get NFC to work with AT&T until they are ready.
    This is not true, I have been using my Rogers on ATT for 2 months with NFC fully functional!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-07-11 01:08 PM
    This is not true, I have been using my Rogers on ATT for 2 months with NFC fully functional!

Rogers 9900 with AT&T service books will work. AT&T 9900 with NFC won't work.
    11-07-11 01:13 PM
    So, could an unlocked AT&T 9900 be used on Rogers network and get the NFC Service Books from Rogers?
    11-07-11 01:23 PM
    Doesn't surprise me. I don't entirely understand how service books work.. How would that enable/disable the ability to use NFC?

Not the most detailed, but this should give you an idea: What Is a BlackBerry Service Book? | eHow.com
    11-07-11 01:35 PM
    Not the most detailed, but this should give you an idea: What Is a BlackBerry Service Book? | eHow.com
    Yeah thanks for the link - I actually read that. I was hoping to find something a little more in-depth, though.

11-07-11 01:38 PM
    Yeah thanks for the link - I actually read that. I was hoping to find something a little more in-depth, though.

Can give these a go:

http://forums.crackberry.com/general...e-book-271437/

FAQ: Explanation Of Each BlackBerry Service Book Type - BerryReview
    11-07-11 01:45 PM
    Awesome - I will start reading those now

11-07-11 01:51 PM
    Sorry, I should have been more clear. The 2 9900's I received from RIM's marketing team were both unlocked & unbranded with Rogers .261... I'm planning on a wipe and putting in .474 today when i wake up. I've been using it on AT&T and my NFC is there to turn on and off but has been useless aside from making an icon on the homescreen
    11-07-11 02:07 PM
    Weird that you can turn it on but have no functionality. I'm starting to understand the whole service book thing.

11-07-11 03:51 PM