sup guys, xmas is here and i bought my presents 9900 bold and a 16gb playbook, i have had bbs for a long time but never upgraded OS or even have desktop manager in my laptop. My plan s to get the most out of this devices, ive been reading alot the past 3 days here in crackberry(great site) but first thing first my 9900 came with a 7.0.0 soft ware. after reading the OS thread looks like im very behind in OS seems like .585 is the latest and the .540 a good all arounder. i thik i will upgrade to the .540 first and see how it goes since im a newbie and never done and upgrade before. i know you guys are very hype about the hybrid version but i really dont wanna get ito that yet until i familiarize withthe phone and the desktop first. i will use my bb basicly for everything bbm alot, emails, music, little FB, lot of browsing etc. im all ears for tips on OS download,helpful apps,big DONTS for ours 9900 from you xperts users. hanks in advance
    12-19-11 10:22 PM
    We would recommend upgrading to 7.1 .. It is a leak but pretty stable.,
    12-19-11 11:07 PM
    Welcome to Crackberry forums!
    I'm sure you will find here all the information that you need, enjoy your new Blackberry products!
    Last edited by blackberry-unlocking710; 12-19-11 at 11:15 PM.
    12-19-11 11:13 PM
    Congrats on your new gadgets.. hope you enjoy them without tany issues. However, if you do we are here to help you

When loading the OS:
    Download the OS
    Double click it, install it.
    Delete the vendor.xml file located in Start>Computer>Local Disc (C>Program Files>Common Files>Research In Motion>AppLoader. -sometimes there is an extre hidden one
    You can use the the Apploader.exe or Desktop software to load the OS on to your phone. Apploader.exe is in the same location as the vendor file.
    Load the OS!

Some say let your battery drain after the install (by using) and put it to charge and wait for more than usual. This is recommended after every OS install.