The camera is a disappointment, but for the amount I'd even be using closeup shots, I could probably always just get as far as closeup mode allows before becoming blurred, and then zooming+cropping as necessary.
    It'd be cumbersome of course, but not a deal breaker for me personally.
    08-11-11 08:08 PM
    As a student, I take pictures of text in books. Something that's important for me to mull over and consider later. Also, I take pictures of text scrawl on dry erase/chalk boards. It's easier to double check to see if what I wrote down captured what was on the board. In study groups, we find a room with a board and some markers and that allows for us to write on the board, and then take photos of it to help save time for slow writers/typers/thinkers. Also, as I use my journalism/editorial skills, I take pictures of magazine/newspaper layouts to remember for later or try and recreate...down to the type of font used. So I find it is a legitimate complaint.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    I'm a student too and was thinking the exact same! I also post mobile pictures to facebook like mad. Phones have evolved into great cameras too. Shame this one couldn't do it. I was going to get this phone after my contract was over but now i'm hesitant... I feel that my 9650 with 3.2 MP but with AF does better...
    08-11-11 08:20 PM
    I didn't think it would be that big deal but the crackberry shots really changed my mind. I have a 9 month old daughter and it is great to whip out my phone and take a pciture of her. I can't see myself paying a premium price for the 9930 with the garbage it produces.