So I was a former Curve 8330 user for many years, liked it and all, but turned to Droid last year. My wife inherited my old Curve from then and she's loving BB.

Wife: hates all the bells, whistles and apps of most smartphones, especially hates not having physical keys, likes to BBM with friends, but uses mostly for her Tupperware business (email, texts, etc.) iOS and Android totally NOT her cup of tea. Her birthday is Dec 10 and I planned on getting her the Bold 9930 for her birthday (she's gonna LOVE it, especially keyboard with enough touchscreen she won't be sick of)

Now the bricking issue has happened and everyone in my path (friends, students (I'm a teacher), etc.) has told me to stay away from BB as it's a sinking ship even aside from the bricking issue.

What say you? Do you all have enough faith in RIM to stay the course? I want to get her the new phone next week. You think I should chance a Bold? Anyone think the bricking will be solved by then? Or should I try to sell her on a Droid pro or some other smartphone with a keyboard...
    11-27-11 06:21 PM
    There's no way to predict when or even if the bricking issue will be solved, since the cause is apparently not yet known. There also doesn't seem to be any way to predict the likelihood of getting a brick-prone device. So if you get one, you may have to endure one or more exchanges until you get a non-bricking unit.

It's similar to what I had to put up with last year with the 9780's stuttering keyboard. It took four replacements to get one that worked right--and the issue was finally traced to one factory. It's similar, but of course the bricking issue is worse.