Ok so I got a chance to try out this phone yesterday and tried out the camera -

Camera 5 Mega pixel

So I have been hearing all types of nonsense about how the Camera is not auto focus - well its true that its not auto focus but its a 5 mega pixel camera, with continuous focus. Now Let me tell you straight since I am a photographer and I know what looks good or bad when it comes to imagery and quality of picture.

I tried the camera in the local store FutureShop in this case, and its was excellent, colorful, balanced, clear and sharp with no problems to report. I took a few shots in the store and it was perfectly clean and clear with no fuzzy's or jagged / blurry imagery

Video Camera 720P

I then tested the 720 P Video Camera - the same experience fast clean video capture with no problems, it was clear, not blurry and crispy too. I was able to pan with no lag and the overall experience functional and proper, good quality top marks as well.

So if anyone is complaining about the camera on this phone .. its User Error in my opinion "replace the user and try again"
    08-28-11 12:39 PM
    So did you try to take a picture close up?

I have no issues with the phones camera abilities for shots at a distance.

However I have not been able to replicate an acceptable shot of a receipt, document or any of that nature that was up to par of my Bold 9650 with autofocus.
    08-28-11 12:43 PM
    Judging from the result you see on your phone isn't entirely all-telling of the image quality. Unless you don't plan on sharing your pictures in any way, the quality of the actual image itself is different when uploaded to a computer or something.
    08-28-11 12:45 PM
    I will take photos with the 9900 when I get a chance at one again and upload the photos they were up close sharp clean pics
    08-28-11 12:48 PM