Hi everyone,

This is my first post to this forum, so I just wanted to say hi
    I'm thinking about wiping my handheld and starting from scratch to keep it running in top condition, similar to how you might wipe your computer and start again to clean Windows registry etc.
    I'm still fairly new to the Bold, so I wondered what to expect. I know that files encrypted on my memory card would have to be decrypted first or I'd lose access to them, and it was things like this I was thinking about.
    Does anyone have any past experiences they'd be able to share?

Thanks,

Paul
    08-01-09 07:19 PM
    Upgrade your os. The 266 and 282 os's are rock solid. I wouldn't recommend going with a 5.x version os, since all of the available ones are still pretty flaky. Wait until you get some more time under your belt before you use a vers 5 os. Also, search for upgrading using crackmem, ( will be super easy ), and read up on backing up your third party apps (if any), and also use desktop manager to backup your contacts / email / calendar. If you use win 7 to do the upgrade, don't forget to go into the usb settings and turn off the setting that auto suspends usb. I can't remember where that is but it'll cause your update to fail every time with win 7 unless you fix. Good luck!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-01-09 07:29 PM
    just .. backup using DM ... and go for it

media card stuff wont be deleted ... just wipe ur handheld .. restore the backup .. and upgrade

and ofcourse if you want to delete the 3rd party apps you will have to install them again to get ur backup working 100% like the shortcuts and homescreen icons
    08-01-09 07:34 PM
    Hey guys,

Thanks for your replies. I could try upgrading the OS (I'm running .247), but why don't they appear when I try Wireless upgrade on the BB, and also DM doesn't pick them up when searching for upgrades when I first connect?