02-27-16 12:48 PM
102 1234 ...
tools
  1. cybersaga's Avatar
    Did you check the logs?
    01-16-15 08:06 AM
  2. Icarus3000's Avatar
    If someone could help me understand the logs, I would be happy to send them to you privately. Please let me know exactly which logs you would like to see.

    Thanks!
    01-16-15 08:11 AM
  3. kbz1960's Avatar
    Did you do safe mode with networking?
    01-16-15 09:54 AM
  4. cybersaga's Avatar
    If someone could help me understand the logs, I would be happy to send them to you privately. Please let me know exactly which logs you would like to see.

    Thanks!
    I don't mind taking a look for you. I'll send you my email address in a private message.

    By the way, when you say it "won't start".... does the Blend window show up at all?
    01-16-15 10:58 AM
  5. Icarus3000's Avatar
    I don't mind taking a look for you. I'll send you my email address in a private message.

    By the way, when you say it "won't start".... does the Blend window show up at all?
    Thanks - which log files should I send? Probably won't be able to send until Sunday.

    When I say it "won't start", the Blend window never shows up at all. The cursor does its "busy" animation for a bit and then goes back to normal. In Task Manager, I can see the Blend process appear when I click on the Blend icon, but it disappears after a few seconds.
    01-16-15 12:57 PM
  6. cybersaga's Avatar
    Do this, and send me the zip file it comes up with:
    Also, you can browse to the install folder (C:\Program Files\BlackBerry\BlackBerry Blend - or on 64-bit systems, C:\Program Files (x86)\BlackBerry\BlackBerry Blend) and double-click on "DiagnosticsReporter.exe". It will zip up all the logs and open an Explorer window where it saved the file.
    01-16-15 02:46 PM
  7. bungaboy's Avatar
    Do this, and send me the zip file it comes up with:
    Hoping you can help fix this issue. I have the exact same issue as Cybersaga.
    01-16-15 05:31 PM
  8. cybersaga's Avatar
    As lcarus you mean?

    I'll send you a pm with my email too. Feel free to send me your logs. Doesn't seem like you can attach anything to a private message.
    bungaboy likes this.
    01-16-15 09:09 PM
  9. cybersaga's Avatar
    I tried to PM you, but I got this message: bungaboy has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space.
    bungaboy likes this.
    01-16-15 09:11 PM
  10. bungaboy's Avatar
    I tried to PM you, but I got this message: bungaboy has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space.
    Sorry. I cleaned out some old ones so there should be space now. Thanks.
    01-16-15 09:58 PM
  11. kbz1960's Avatar
    Has anyone tried safe mode with networking?
    01-17-15 06:49 AM
  12. bungaboy's Avatar
    Has anyone tried safe mode with networking?
    Yup. No workee.
    kbz1960 likes this.
    01-17-15 07:54 AM
  13. Icarus3000's Avatar
    Cybersaga: I just sent you my log files by email.

    Thanks!
    01-17-15 08:09 AM
  14. cybersaga's Avatar
    I should say, I'm no expert on this. I just had a ton of trouble with Blend myself and finally got it working. And I'm a programmer myself, so I kinda know how this stuff works, but this does do a lot of stuff that I've never done before. So I kinda have no idea what I'm doing.

    From what I can see in your logs, the issue seems to be with the PeerManager. Both Blend and Link use PeerManager.exe as kind of a proxy. I think PeerManager is what actually connects to your Blackberry and to the Blackberry servers, and the other programs connect to PeerManager. I think. I think Blend might connect directly to you Blackberry later on (if things work) too.

    Here's what I see in the PeerManager log. The other piece fail after this. There's nothing personally identifiable in here, so I'll just post an excerpt of that log:
    Code:
    9740: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.153511][038CD4C0][3][peer_manager] - [Enter] initalize_bbtun_api
    9741: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.154511][038CD4C0][1][bbtun_logger] - RimInitialize OpenFileMapping error 0x2
    9742: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.154511][038CD4C0][1][peer_manager] - RimInitialize failed. Error: 0xffff8001
    9743: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.154511][038CD4C0][3][peer_manager] - [Exit] initalize_bbtun_api
    9744: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.499531][038CD4C0][4][peer_manager] - [Enter] do_update_friendly_name_lan
    9745: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.499531][038CD4C0][1][peer_manager] - bbtun api not initialized
    9746: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.499531][038CD4C0][3][peer_manager] - Unable to update desktop name.  Requeue request.
    9747: [2015.01.17T08:52:26.499531][038CD4C0][4][peer_manager] - [Exit] do_update_friendly_name_lan
    9748: [2015.01.17T08:53:33.240348][03916B98][1][global] - Advise peer manager client with cookie: 0x0470F548
    9749: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.149457][03916B98][1][global] - Advise peer manager client with cookie: 0x0470F548
    9750: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.183459][03916B98][3][peer_manager] - generate_p2p_certificate - name: Invoke
    9751: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.183459][03916B98][3][tunnel_manager_plugin_win32] - notify_incoming_wan_invite request
    9752: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.183459][03916B98][1][tunnel_manager_plugin_win32] - Unable to acquire ITunnelManagerPluginServer2 interface.
    9753: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.183459][03916B98][1][peer_manager] - generate_p2p_certificate - failed
    9754: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.183459][03916B98][1][global] - handle_generate_p2p_certificate - failed
    9755: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.184459][03916B98][1][global] - Unadvise peer manager client with cookie: 0x6
    9756: [2015.01.17T08:53:35.184459][03916B98][1][global] - Invalidate RPC client.  Cookie: 6
    Two errors I see in there: the "RimInitialize failed.", which happens over and over before that too. It seems to keep trying. Then the "generate_p2p_certificate - failed". And that's what seems to make the other pieces fail, which you can see in the "InvokeProxy" log.

    One possibility is permissions.... try running Blend as an administrator. I have UAC disabled, so I never see those issues.

    This may still be a firewall issue somehow. Have you disabled Windows Firewall and any other firewall you have? Do you have any VPN software installed? For me it was CheckPoint VPN blocking traffic, though Blend was still starting up.

    See this doc: KB34794-BlackBerry desktop applications and Internet connectivity

    It shows all the servers that you need to be able to connect to for Blend to work. You can try the port 443 connections in a browser (i.e. https://p2p.voip.blackberry.com), but a firewall will likely have exceptions for your browser, so it might be a better test to try using the telnet client from the command line: "telnet p2p.voip.blackberry.com 443". If the screen goes blank, it connected. Otherwise, it'll sit there for a while and return a connection error. Do that for each of the servers listed in that document. Note that one of them connects to port 3478, so you need to do "telnet stun.p2p.blackberry.com 3478".

    If you don't have the telnet client installed (I don't think it's default), then see here: Install Telnet Client
    01-17-15 09:44 AM
  15. cybersaga's Avatar
    Here's another page that might be helpful: KB36035-Troubleshooting connection problems in BlackBerry Blend

    Also, are you trying with the Blackberry connected via USB? Or not connected at all? It may not make a difference, but it might.
    01-17-15 09:45 AM
  16. Icarus3000's Avatar
    I will try your suggestions and let you know if I figure anything out. Thanks!
    01-17-15 12:07 PM
  17. Icarus3000's Avatar
    Thanks for your help, but I am still at a loss as to how to fix this

    I was able to telnet to each of the servers in the document you linked to.
    I tried to run as administrator - no difference.
    I turned off all firewalls - no difference.

    I think the mystery is why the processes are failing.
    01-18-15 07:47 AM
  18. cybersaga's Avatar
    Not entirely sure either.

    Have you checked if you have IPv6 enabled?
    01-19-15 07:29 AM
  19. Icarus3000's Avatar
    Not entirely sure either.

    Have you checked if you have IPv6 enabled?
    Yes, IPv6 is enabled.
    01-19-15 01:31 PM
  20. kbz1960's Avatar
    Are you using routers? Maybe something in the firewall of the router blocking it? Just thinking of anything that might help.
    01-19-15 03:58 PM
  21. cybersaga's Avatar
    I'm kind of at a loss too. Many of the names in the log (like generate_p2p_certificate and notify_incoming_wan_invite) look like names of procedures in the Blend code. So only someone familiar with what those procedures do can tell you what exactly they do.

    One other thing you could do is use Process Monitor. It monitors everything that every process is doing (opening files, opening registry keys, network connections, etc.).

    Close as many programs as you can (simply to limit what's logged). Start Process Monitor. It usually opens a pop-up to filter the output. You don't need to filter anything, so just hit OK. It usually starts logging everything right away, but if it doesn't, then click the magnifying glass on the toolbar (it may have an X over it if it's stopped). Once it's logging things, open Blend. As soon as you're sure that Blend has failed, then click the magnifying glass in Process Monitor to stop logging. Click the Save button on the toolbar. Under 'Events to save', select 'All events'. Then save it and send me the file.

    Again, I can't guarantee I'll figure it out. That will show what everything is doing, and I might be able to see what fails. But maybe not.
    01-19-15 04:01 PM
  22. Icarus3000's Avatar
    Got sidetracked with some family stuff yesterday, but will check out Process Monitor and send you the logs tonight, thanks!
    01-20-15 08:04 AM
  23. cybersaga's Avatar
    To keep others up-to-date, lcarus sent me the Process Monitor log. I noticed that there was no action from tunmgr.exe, which is the BlackBerry Link Communication Manager service. Turns out this service is not running and when he tries to start it, it stops by itself.

    He said he'll send me new logs tonight.

    Others having problem: check that service. I see on my machine, at least, that the Communication Manager service makes a ton of network connections. I suspect that's the service that actually makes the connection with the Blackberry. So if it's not running, then nothing will work.

    That's my theory anyway. We'll see.
    kbz1960 and bungaboy like this.
    01-21-15 10:00 AM
  24. cybersaga's Avatar
    Today I tried stopping and disabling that 'BlackBerry Link Communication Manager' service. When I ran Blend, it did not start for me. I saw the icon flash on the task bar, but then it just died.

    Once I enabled and started that service again, Blend worked just fine.

    So that service definitely must be running for Blend to work.
    bungaboy likes this.
    01-22-15 11:43 AM
  25. Icarus3000's Avatar
    Today I tried stopping and disabling that 'BlackBerry Link Communication Manager' service. When I ran Blend, it did not start for me. I saw the icon flash on the task bar, but then it just died.

    Once I enabled and started that service again, Blend worked just fine.

    So that service definitely must be running for Blend to work.
    Actually, I am able to start the 'BlackBerry Link Communication Manager' service. It stays active when I try to start Blend. So I'm not sure this is the problem - although you mentioned to me in private that my Process Monitor log shows that it isn't doing anything when it should be.

    Do you have any further suggestions or things I should investigate/log?

    [EDIT] Actually, I thought the service was remaining active, and it appeared that way when services.msc was kept open. HOWEVER, when I close and re-open services.msc, I see that the service has stopped again, even though I have it set to "manual". Very strange. Now I need to figure out why the service shuts down.
    bungaboy likes this.
    01-22-15 01:57 PM
102 1234 ...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 82
    Last Post: 11-24-15, 02:58 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-06-15, 10:15 PM
  3. Do you charge your BB on or turned off?
    By blackbobaberry in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 01-06-15, 09:44 AM
  4. How do I manually and detailed setup APN mobile connection on BB 10.3?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-15, 01:11 PM
  5. How do I put Date/Time Stamp on pictures?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-15, 10:08 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD