Hey,

I am new to BB use and could do with some help please. I have a 8820 on Orange in the UK. Initially BB Maps was not on the device and I had to download it from the BB website. Is there a way to have the Map Data stored on the device itself rather than have it streamed by the Network provider? Is it a normal function of BB Maps to have the data streamed rather than stored on the device, or have Orange removed the facility to do this?

Additionally I have a home Wi-Fi network setup and have tried to use this to download the software, but to no avail. The Wi-Fi symbol shows as yellow in the 'Manage Connections' facility, and the Wi-Fi logo shows as light blue on the desktop rather than black. Is there something I am missing? My network configuration uses a PSK and WPA security configuration. I have set up a profile in my device, but there is still limited functionality. Is this Orange playing silly beggars again?

Thanks
    12-19-07 04:17 PM
    I'm also on orange in the UK and as far as I know there is no option to store the BB Maps data on the Blackberry.

Regarding your wi-fi question, I've had mixed success using it on the 8820 with my BT Home Hub router. I have managed to connect and use the wireless network at home, but if I leave the phone for a while the 'wi-fi' symbol often greys out and the symbol turns yellow in connections, and the phone goes back to GPRS. I would suggest checking the following:
    - On the Blackberry select 'Manage Connections', then 'Wi-fi' options, then press the menu button and select 'wi-fi Diagnostics'. This sometimes gives an error message that may point you in the right direction.
    - Check that the correct security settings and code are entered (sounds obvious but it has caught me out)
    - Try changing the 'Automatically obtain IP address and DNS' settings in the wi-fi profile to a static address (or vice-versa), and make sure these match the settings on your router.