Hello. I am a total newbie on smartphones.
    Today, I purchased a Blackberry 8830 world edition (Alltel) at a local rummage sale. I paid $20.00 for it, with the car charger and carrying pouch. After downloading the user's manual from the web I realized that this phone has not an smartcard. My question is (and please forgive my ignorance)...is there anything I can do with this phone? I purchased it on an impulse. OK, more questions...if I were to subscribe to one plan, it has to be an ALLTEL plan? Do I need to purchase a Sim card? Was it a good purchase, or I just wasted $20.00 in something that I won't be able to use?

Thanks for your patience and advice!!
    04-30-10 12:31 PM
    Assuming you are in North America, you can use your 8830 on CDMA carriers. Alltell is CDMA, so they will likely activate your 8830, assuming there is not a negative balance associated with the number and the phone hasn't been reported stolen. You won't need a SIM; CDMA doesn't use it. You cannot use an 8830, with or without a SIM, on any North American GSM carrier.
    04-30-10 12:54 PM
    Hi, JeffH. Yes, I'm in US.
    Thanks a lot for your response.
    Then, is Alltel the only company that would provide service to this phone?
    I don't need a Sim card even if I want to subscribe to the Data or Internet service?

Thanks!
    04-30-10 01:17 PM
    Verizon is CDMA I believe. ATT is GSM and cannot be used.

Once you activate the phone with a data plan you are good to go with internet service and all the other goodies the phone allows..

Edited.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by sedalia066; 04-30-10 at 02:48 PM.
    04-30-10 01:23 PM