Hey guys.. I'm a newbie (at least going to be)... making the jump from my Treo to my very first blackberry (verizon 8830 when it comes out)
    I was wondering if its possible to get threaded sms like my treo on the blackberry...

thanks
    05-24-07 10:43 AM
    YES! On the 4.2 O.S (8800 & 8100 Pearl) it comes that way by default. There is also an option to say, "keep the last X number of messages from a user" thus giving it the threaded look & feel...

I love it! Sometimes you send someone an sms message, and it takes them forever to reply, and you have no idea what they are talking about. But, because of this feature, it helps...
    05-25-07 07:50 AM
    do you know where to find that particular option?
    05-28-07 11:56 AM
    Options / SMS Text / Number of Previous Items...
    raino likes this.
    05-28-07 12:14 PM
    thanks... im pretty new at this... my first blackberry... coming off a treo.. and loving it..

but just to make sure.. i set that number to what.. 1...
    05-29-07 08:00 AM
    It is not a true threading program like a treo, Iphone or WM5 applications. You must keep all of the older messages in your in box in order the read the conversation. This is a very messy way to do it. Your inbox is soon filled with hundreds of messages. As someone who sends lots of text messages it would be nice if someone came out with a true SMS threading solution to this so the messages read like an IM conversation. You would have a screen that shows you your currrent ongoing conversations:

Susan Smith
    Jack Thompson
    Bob Williams

You click on Bon Williams and would see...

Bob: What you are doing to tonight
    Me: Nothing. Hanging in.
    Bob: What to go have a drink?
    Me: No thanks. Staying in.

There would be no other sign of the individual messages that clutter up the inbox. Can't wait until someone designs a software fix for this. I'm surprised that BB doesn't offer it when every other top end phone does.

My two cents

Brad
    09-23-07 01:40 PM