I am new to Blackberry, I have had an 8830 WE for about a week now that I got from a friend and do not know much about it or electronics in general for that matter. I was wondering if I should bother updating to the newest OS. Right now I am running on OS v4.2.2.196. Are there any real upsides or downsides to getting the new OS? Should I just stick with what I have until I get a new phone? I absolutely love this Blackberry and plan on upgrading once my wireless service allows somewhere near June of 2010. Is it worth the time and energy or should I stick it out with what I got? Also, if I have problems with the new OS, providing I do install it, is there any way to go back to v4.2.2.196?

Thank you to anybody and everybody that can help me with this decision.
    09-29-09 03:43 PM
    yaa manm install it. its always good to install the newer updates. as long as you install the official software from rim. which anyone correct me if im wrong but its 4.5 something isnt it?

Hope that helps
    09-29-09 04:12 PM
    i have a slight difference of opinion here. i've downloaded the latest version 4.5.0.160 straight from blackberry.com website and have the worst memory leak i've ever experienced!! if anyone can help me out please do. i'll be elegeble for an upgrade next month and i'm gonna getr the storm and probably won't change the OS. i do however agree with ssc13 about the nicer things the upgrades brings, but with the memory leak as bad as it has been, (having to do a battery pull about once a day, or two days depending on the tume due to it dropping to 0 bytes.) i'll probably just leave it B
    09-29-09 04:24 PM