Hi all,

This is my first time posting - I have a 12GB data plan but my telcom service provider (Singapore's Starhub) just told me that I can't use my 8820 to surf the Net.

I'm hoping that you folks will prove them wrong.

The problem, they claim, is that I did not buy it straight from the telcom - I would need the BlackBerry Internet Service (BIS).

I've just locked myself into (what I thought was) a fantastic 12GB data plan, and am not willing to fork out the extra $$$ to pay for the BIS.

(The 8820 is no longer sold by the telcom companies here, so I bought it online as an 'export' set, because I needed a BB without camera.)

I would greatly appreciate it if you could give me some advice.

Thanks and regards,
    Kwan
    12-28-09 07:40 AM
    dude , you've gotta sign up for the bis if not you have to change your phone.
    glad t see someone from singapore using this forum
    anw starhub has cap $36 on data so nothing to worry about
    01-27-10 05:48 AM
    like what r3spect said, all blackberry phones need BISo or BES data plans to browse and e-mail, regular internet data doesnt work. I saw this happen to a friend of mine in South America
    02-01-10 06:15 AM
    dude , you've gotta sign up for the bis if not you have to change your phone.
    glad t see someone from singapore using this forum
    anw starhub has cap $36 on data so nothing to worry about
    wrong
    like what r3spect said, all blackberry phones need BISo or BES data plans to browse and e-mail, regular internet data doesnt work. I saw this happen to a friend of mine in South America
    wrong

This isn't quite accurate. While it's true that BLACKBERRY-BRANDED Internet software won't work, third party Internet software does.

Stuff like Opera Mini, Google Maps, GMAIL Mobile, Beejive MSN Chat, etc, all worked perfectly on a BlackBerry with a REGULAR DATA SIM card -- NO BLACKBERRY PLAN NEEDED...